Skip to main content
Kinetic Community

Service Items - Create and Maintain

A Service Item is an individual request (or form) to be filled out and submitted asking for a service (item, application, etc.).  From the Service Catalog Console you can create, delete and search for service items.

Finding Service Items

The Service Items table displays service items related to the currently selected service catalog. Under the table are the buttons to create (New), Clone or Delete a selected service item.

WARNING: If you delete a service item, you delete all the related answers. After you select Delete, the system waits at least 24 hours before truly deleting the service item. Until then you can restore the service item through a tab on the Configuration Manager.

Besides using the standard Remedy column sorting options for tables on either the mid-tier or User Tool, you can search for service items by type using the drop-down labled Search Type. Type is an optional field available when you create or modify a service item.

search for service items by type.JPG

 

Creating Service Items

There are two ways to create a service item, creating one from scratch, or copying an exiting one by using the clone functionality.

Create a New Service Item

Create a new service item by clicking on the New button below the Service Items table.

This is the dialog that appears:

new service item dialog.JPG

The Service Catalog defaults to the current service catalog, and cannot be changed. Type can either be entered by hand, or selected from the drop-down list. If you enter a new type and save the service item, it will be added to the list. Service Item name is required, and must be unique for that service catalog (unique index with service catalog name and service item name). Service Item Description is required and should have an descriptive text for the service item. This field is sometimes displayed on a web portal. Lastly Allow Anonymous is checked by default. This option allows you to click on the Open Anonymous link on the mid right of the console to view your service item in a browser. It should not be unchecked.

Cloning a Service Item

Cloning an existing service item is a great way to get existing functionality, styling, etc without having to start from scratch. Many customers make a basic template with as much styling and other features already complete for cloning to save time developing new service items.

Here is an example of a new clone dialog.

service item clone dialog.JPG

To clone a service item, select it from the Service Items table and click the Clone button. Enter in a new name (see above) and press Continue. It can take a few minutes, because the new service item is exported, cloned, and then re-imported with the new name and updated ids for elements. If a service item is cloned, we note that fact on its background Remedy form (KS_SRV_SurveyTemplate). If the field OriginalTemplateID is different from the instanceId field, you know it was cloned, and you will have the instanceId of the service item it was cloned from.

Modifying a Service Item

Once a service item is created, you can modify almost all the different information about it. Modifying questions and text is covered in another article. Here you can see the name, type and description.

service item details top section.JPG

Any of the fields above the details tabs (Pages, Style, etc..) can be changed for the selected service item, just make your change and press Save. The only exception to this is the Status of the service item - see next section.

Service Item Status Descriptions

Changing the Status of a service item determines both modifications you can make, and presentation to the customer. All newly created and cloned service items start in a New status.

Status Description
New

This is the testing mode for the request. All functionality is available from this status. 

Changes are not audited in this status
Active

The Active status is meant for production. Modifying questions, integrations, and other configuration items are disabled as changes to an active request can skew request results or cause other unexpected issues. 

If a change needs to be made to an active request, you must click on the “Allow Modification” button in order to make any changes.

Any changes are audited in this status.
Inactive Participants can complete requests but new requests cannot be sent to participants. Cannot make changes to the service item
Closed This locks the service item and changes cannot be made. New requests cannot be sent and requests in the field cannot be completed.
Delete This deletes a request. You can only delete a New status request from the Request Manager, it is not available on the drop-down list.

Service items can switch between Active, Inactive and Closed as often as needed. However, once a service item moves to Active status, it cannot go back to New. To confirm the change to status, you must save the service item.